2010 Review

Newmarket Joggers annual awards for 2010 were presented at the Christmas Dinner Dance; these awards take in the performances over the year of all members and also their commitment to the club in league/team races as well as their contribution to club duties. The Joggers are now on 90 members and on some training evenings (Tuesday’s and Thursday’s) have 30+ members of all abilities running in and around our town.

The awards were introduced a couple of years ago to celebrate those achievements of members who have exceeded their own expectations and who help make the Newmarket Joggers an ever growing and high achieving club. We were proud to have Tommy Smith and Geoff Sale who were the founder members of the club presenting the prizes and adding their own anecdotes along the way.

Newmarket Jogger of the Year for 2010(as voted by members) went to Greg Davis with Newmarket Joggers Champion Performer of 2010 to Paul Holley – this was awarded to him for his magnificent year winning the Bushy 10k, Newmarket 10k and the Bungay Half Marathon as well as finishing 16th (out of 12,000) in the Edinburgh Marathon in the club’s fastest marathon time of the year in 2:43.

New Member awards went to Julie Sheldrick and David Cheese with the Improved Performer awards for 2010 going to Ursula White and Nick Conway. The Team Member awards went to Debbie Read and Neville Clarke and the Veteran Performer awards to Susannah Rush and Brian Munns.